top of page

Hate Your Job? It’s Not Just You…


A few weeks following the completion of my Masters in Psychology, I was hired for my first entry-level 9–5 office job just a few weeks after graduation in a field I never saw myself entering. I clacked down the marble hallway, passed security, went up the elevator to the top floor, and through the glass doors to a beautiful, modern office. A massive television screen played a music video and out the window was a perfect view of all of Manhattan. Vinyl records were everywhere, and each conference room contained a mural of a legendary artist.


I was on cloud nine; if I could have pitched a tent in the office and slept there, I would have. One month in, I was so happy to be there that I was coming in early and staying late. By three months, I was sure I could work there for the rest of my life. A few months later, I dropped all aspirations of getting a Ph.D. I loved my job, and my friends gave me all the reassurance that I had what it takes to succeed in business. The ladder looked great, and I wanted to get up the rungs. It did not matter to me that the drive was far, and my salary barely allowed me to scrape by.


During the first months, I went through a steep learning curve. Having had absolutely no background in music, I was learning a lot very quickly. Some of it was challenging but not challenging enough that it was beyond my comprehension. Learning made the job fun, exciting, and dynamic. Once I learned to do my job well, I started learning about the duties of others. I wanted to know a little more about what went on around me. That was also challenging and took a lot of questions, but like before, not beyond comprehension.


A few more months in, learning became far more challenging. I already mastered my job duties and could do them with very little thought. Anything left to learn had increased complexity. I could occasionally inquire into the things I did not know, but that was the extent of it.


At this point, I was pretty bored and frustrated. My job became repetitive and mundane. I performed the same duties and answered the same questions over and over again. I craved knowledge but would not receive any additional training because I’d already received training for my job position.


I felt stuck.


If you are reading this, you are probably having a similar experience. You loved your job while it was shiny and new, but over time the work became dull. You can probably do it with your eyes closed, and nothing is exciting about that. If this is you, you’re not alone.


According to a Gallup poll, only 40% of U.S. workers consider their jobs “good.” And let’s keep in mind that “good” doesn’t necessarily mean satisfying.


Soon, I was waking up groggy. Five more minutes turned into ten more minutes. Then 20 minutes. I went from showing up 30 minutes early to showing up right on time. Then three minutes late. Then ten and 15 minutes late.


My salary started to bug me too. Even though the work was the same as it was on day one, the pay no longer felt worth my time. But I needed it, so I kept showing up begrudgingly.


I’m sorry to tell you that this isn’t an article on how I make $10k a month working on my laptop and traveling the world. That is most certainly my goal, but I’m not there yet. I live 1000 miles away from my family and have bills to pay and a puppy to feed, so I can’t quit my job to pursue my passion full time. What I can tell you, and what most people won’t, is how to cope in the meantime.

  • Decide to start putting 110% into your job again. Doing more than the minimum will create a bit of challenge. Also, it’ll help you stay employed. You probably already set low expectations, so you may even impress your boss with just a small amount of added effort.

  • When you can show measurable achievements, set up a meeting with your HR representative to discuss a salary increase. It is never guaranteed, but it doesn’t hurt to ask. If you receive the increase, chances are you’ll feel a bit more satisfied, at least temporarily. At the very least, you’ll be less resentful.

  • Wake up earlier to do something for yourself before you head to work. This is a mind hack. You’re waking up to do something you enjoy early in the morning, not to get ready for work. For me, that was getting to the gym. I woke up every day to go to the gym. After that, I did the next thing on my list, which was getting myself to the office.

  • Find a long term passion project. I recommend something productive that can show growth. It might be something like creating a social media page to disseminate information about a topic you feel people don’t know enough about or taking up boxing or Ju-Jitsu. Both are challenging, and you can see growth, such as gaining followers or gaining skills. It’ll make it feel like you’re living to do something you care about, not just living to work. You might even find something you can monetize and can someday replace your income.

The important thing to keep in mind is that you are not alone and you are not the only one. This is not an abnormal feeling to have in your early 20s.


It was a engrained in me my entire life that success and happiness come from finding a career and working there until I turn 65 or older. College was the means to the end and the end was my job. If I wasn’t happy at my company, then where the hell would I be happy? I thought the next 45 years would consist of living to work at a job I hated.

I turned my job into a means, not an end. My job is just there to pay the bills, support me while I pursue my passions, hold me steady while I figure out all the pieces of my life. I changed my mindset and my daily agenda so that I work to live instead of living to work.



bottom of page