top of page

The Best Years: The Myth Of Being In Your 20s


Growing up, I thought I had to have it all figured out by the time I entered my first, post-college job. I was given the impression my whole life that as long as I went to college and came out with a degree, everything would fall into place. I'd suddenly love salads, I'd find my dream job, the loans I took out for said job would get paid off regardless of the amount and someday I'll happily retire with what is in my 401k.


Then I reached my mid-twenties and it all hit me at once. That dream was nothing more than a dream. My first job out of college was for $13 an hour in the corner of a grey, windowless room. For reference, my 17-year-old sister makes $12 an hour as a cashier of a tiny store.


I had debt up to my eyeballs and pain in my joints. This was not what yours 20s were supposed to be like. My early 20s, I thought, meant happy hours with coworkers, luxury cruises with best friends, and finding a life-long partner. I was under the guise that my early 20s were supposed to be my best years, and if my 20s sucked, would the rest of my life suck too?


I later realized, in my mid-twenties, that these are not supposed to be the best years. A 20-something that isn't dealing with some issue-be it, mental, emotional, physical, financial, familial or otherwise is a rare occurrence.

Instead I came to the conclusion that no decade is supposed to be the best decade, and that is particularly true of your 20s. Your 20s are a chance to start the foundation for successful future decades. For most, it's the first time they have a source of income and the independence from their families to create meaningful change in their life path.


Don't get me wrong though-that doesn't mean you're limited to starting in your 20s. You can start in your 30s, your 40s, or whenever you decide you're fed up and are going to take charge of your future.


Consider any decade, any year, any day, even, a brick in the foundation toward a stronger home later down the line.


There is no better day like today to start prioritizing your health, your finances, your network, and your mind. Every 30 minutes of activity, every dollar invested, every hand shaken and every book read adds up and you'll find that the foundation work done in your 20s will grow exponentially in your 30s.




bottom of page