top of page

The benefits of a minimalist lifestyle


When I decided to move cross-country, I also made the decision to start over almost entirely. I felt that I'd outgrown the Ikea dresser in the bedroom I rented, and my Wayfair platform bed was not worth the expense of a moving company. I also wasn't attached to most of my wardrobe, and since I shared an apartment, I only owned a small part of the kitchen supplies.


That meant that I was able to pack up my Honda Civic and hit the road. A week later I was in a new apartment, with new furniture and the basics: plates, cups, utensils, towels, sheets, etc.


Since I didn't want to blow my savings, I decided I'd add to my home slowly and strategically. Outside of decor, I only purchased tools and appliances that were both necessary and more efficient than an alternative method. For example, I bought a mixer only when I started cooking with shredded chicken because it could save me the time and labor of ripping up tons of chicken with a fork. The first time I needed it was about a year into living in my new apartment.


I also did not bring things into my home only because I was receiving them for free or they were on sale. Aside from clothes and decor, only what was necessary came into my home.


While we're on the subject, when I say I lived a minimalist lifestyle it does not mean I had a minimal amount of decor, but certainly only the amount of decor I needed to make my home comfortable and stylish. A few thrifted books and bowls, some vases, throw pillows and blankets, and lamps made up most of my decor. They were all things that gave the space character but also served a second purpose. You were not going to come in and find a random bobble head knick-knack. I also chose not to be minimal with my wardrobe, although over time I have generally learned to be more mindful while purchasing attire.


Being minimal isn't about living with less, but living with what is necessary.


Now let's get to some of the benefits:


Major savings on unnecessary tools and appliances

When I first moved in, I strongly considered buying a blender. I'd always wanted a nice Ninja blender with it's 539 features and abilities. I decided I'll buy it once I really need it. Turned out that not once in 15 months living in that apartment, did I have a need for a full-sized blender. I made maybe 10 smoothies total in a small $16 smoothie blender, and had I needed a larger one, I would have made the move to purchase one, but never found a need. I also wanted a panini maker, but after 15 months I got along just fine with a pan and spatula. The small amount of efficiency wasn't worth the price or space the panini maker would take up.


The satisfaction of matching items

As items went missing form my mom's house (let's be real- almost everyone's mom does this!) she'd keep the old and the new. Next thing you know, you're 18 years old and there are 15 different styles of forks, spoons and knives overflowing in the kitchen drawer and 23 mismatched glass cups in the cupboard.


Or how about the crammed collection of novelty mugs? No more for me! Any novelty mugs, while appreciated, were sent into the donation pile because I did not need more than the six I had in the cabinet. Same went for all my towels (which were black from Target so stains didn't show and they could be easily replaced).


Clean up and moving was a breeze

Since I didn't own a lot, there was never much to declutter, moving things out of the way for deep cleaning was a breeze, and storing my belongings in a storage container was simple.


Little food spoilage

The same concept applied to my pantry and fridge. I only purchased the spices I needed. If a recipe called for something I didn't already have, I only bought it at that time. Aside from larger packs of meat and fish that could be zip-locked and frozen, I planned ahead and bought only the ingredients and food I needed for the next week or two. This helped me avoid having tons of spoiled or expired produce.


Sustainability

All of the factors above add up to having a more environmentally friendly home. Not only did I have less material and food items, but also considerably less waste year-round as a result.


Reduced Visual Noise and anxiety

I'm one of those people that has to reset the room in order to be productive. If I have a ton of clutter on the tables, counters and shelves, I'm easily distracted and focused more on the clutter than on my work. Owning less meant that everything had a place, and could be easily stored away after it's been used.


Have you tried living a minimalist lifestyle yet? There's no need to grab a garbage bag and get rid of everything, but that food dehydrator you haven't used in three years? Consider either making a commitment to using it or throwing it up on Marketplace.


If the idea freaks you out, maybe start in just one area of your life like your closet, your make-up drawer, your cupboard or fridge and pantry. If you find you enjoy and benefit from the change, then expand minimalism into other areas of your life.


If you can think of any other benefits, comment them down below!



bottom of page