top of page

Top 8 Tips for solo travelers


Life is too short to wait around for something else's schedule to match your own. That was my reason for taking my first solo trip. I spent one week at an all-inclusive resort in Cozumel, Mexico back in 2017. I had the time of my life and wouldn't change a thing, including having gone alone.


Regardless of your reason for going solo, solo travel will take you on a journey of self-discovery. It will allow you to make decisions based solely on your own feelings and desires, and on your own schedule. How often do you have to compromise your wants on a trip because you have to consider the others in the group? Not when you're on your own.


Traveling alone to Mexico felt like a form of self-care and self-love that I hadn't experienced before. I slept on my schedule, went out, ate and drank on my schedule, and on my budget without consideration for anyone else.


Your friends and family will have plenty of fears during your first trip, but this is where the preparation becomes so important. If you wait for a friend to be available to accompany you to your dream destination, you may never see it! So, let's work on making your first solo trip a fun and, more importantly, safe one!


Narrow down to a short list of countries or cities

Some cities are more conducive to solo travel than others. For example, being alone in a mountain cabin might get a little lonely. Personally, I prefer to go to large cities or a resort if I'm going someplace with a tropical climate.


Research tourist areas and safety ratings

Most popular cities are massive and entering certain regions of a city can be dangerous, particularly for someone who is unfamiliar with the surroundings or sticks out as a tourist. Some cities have neighborhoods or routes where pick-pocketing is common, for example, so you'd want to avoid those or at least know to have increased awareness. Sticking to tourist regions is your best bet.


Do not let others know you're alone

If you meet others, they may ask, out of curiosity, if you are traveling alone. I don't consider it a red flag, but I am also cautious not to tell just anyone that I am in an unfamiliar city on my own. I let them know I have friends or a roommate around. In other words, I try to give the impression that if something happened to me, someone would notice.


Opt for an All-Inclusive resort

The nice thing about an all-inclusive resort is that it is like a little city of it's own. You'll likely have choices between different pools and a private beach, multiple restaurant options, multiple bar options and a host of amenities. An all-inclusive is generally safer than an option that requires you to take transportation, and many resorts offer excursions so that travel outside the resort can be done in a group.


Find an airbnb with roommates

This one has less to do with safety and more to do with having people available to interact with. During a solo trip to Lisbon I became friends with my roommate and formed a large network of friends after a night at a bar together. Roommates (if you get along) are like built in friends.


Bring a tripod for pictures or ask to exchange with strangers

Getting pictures of yourself is a bit difficult when you're traveling alone, and for those of us committed to our grids, we don't want just a bunch of selfies. Pack yourself a small tripod that you can use to set up your phone or camera. You can also purchase a bluetooth remote to take pictures from a distance without relying on your camera timer.


An alternative is to find a stranger trying to take a good selfie and ask them if they would like help taking a photo. Usually, they will ask to return the favor!


Look up the languages spoken

This is a lesson I learned the hard way. I have Italian co-workers who spoke near perfect English, so I never thought I'd have a hard time communicating in Rome, but boy was I wrong. Usually I could get by with funny hand gestures (imagine me pretending to plunge a toilet in the middle of a hardware store), but that proved far more difficult when trying to book a Covid test over the phone for my next destination. I also had a hard time making friends because of the language barrier. Good thing I had a roommate!


Join a meet-up group or group experience

You can check online forums for meet-up groups to find other travelers and expats with similar interests. AirBNB also has, as part of it's platform, lists of experiences that you can join, usually for a low or reasonable cost. You can find experiences in your own language; not only will you get to try or learn something new but you also have the opportunity to engage with other likeminded individuals.


 

Have I convinced you? Will this be the year you take a solo trip? It's something I encourage everyone to do at least once in their lifetime! It's a form of self-exploration that is rarely talked about, probably because most shy away from the idea. But solo doesn't have to mean lonely and certainly can be safe.. You might even discover you're less of an introvert than you thought. Remember- the fun stuff happens outside your comfort zone!


bottom of page